Droids, Symphony, and Skiing

On Saturday we got to go see the Utah Symphony with our friends.  It was really good.  One of the songs that we listened to was The Firebird.  It took a whole 45 minutes on its own! That is really long!

On Friday we got to go ski.  We went to Brighton.  We are practicing for if we go to McCall.  ;D  I only crashed once and it wasn’t a bad crash.  (I only lost a ski.)  I hope that we can ski again soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are learning how to take the city bus to our aerial class.  My dad taught us how they work and showed us the maps on the internet.  Then he actually took us to the class.  We learned how to do a lot of fun tricks.  This week we learned how to wrap our bodies up so that we could stand with the silks wrapped around our legs.  It was really fun.  We also worked on the trapeze.  We actually made it up to where we were sitting on the bar.  We learned how to hold a position where you are sitting on top of the bar and you don’t hold on with either of your hands.  One of you legs is pointing down at the ground and the other one is pointing in front of you so you legs make a capital “L.”

We went shopping with my extra birthday money and looked for some things.  I am going to buy a programmable robot of BB-8 from Star Wars.  It is $130.00 so I have to save.  Right now I only need $37.00.  Charlie is saving for R2-D2 and Syd is saving for BB9E.  (Mine is the Orange.)

We learned about Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.  His name isn’t really Martin Luther King.  His real name was Michael King but when his dad learned about Martin Luther on a trip to Germany, he changed both him and Michael’s name to Martin Luther King.  I also learned how he was the person who convinced the government to give everybody equal rights.  He was shot and killed in a hotel in Kentucky because somebody didn’t like what he had been saying.

martin luther king jr

For history we learned the French settlers in Canada and how they fought the Iroquois Indians.  We also learned about Marie Madeline.  Her parents had a lot of property in Canada or New France.  One day she was out wandering in the fields when both of her parents were gone.  She heard screams and turned around and saw about fifty Iroquois Indians.  She ran all the way back to the fort.  She hurried and barred the door.  SHe told the other people to get guns and protect the fort.  Nobody would help so she got her to younger brothers who were twelve and ten and an eighty year old man and held the fort for a couple of days until help came.  I think it is a really cool story and you should read about her.

We are reading The Last of the Mohicans.  It is really long.  I have also started and finished Cinder.  I am still working on The Summer of the Monkeys.

I am working on memorizing my piano federation songs.  I had a cello lesson and learned how to go into sixth position for the song  A Thousand Years.  I am still singing Slipping Through my Fingers.

I finally finished my paper on why we should not have dropped the atomic bombs on Japan.  Here it is.  Laine’s Mistake of Dropping Atomic Bombs  After you read Ryann’s and mine what do you think.  Should we have dropped the atomic bombs?

I hope you all have a good week.

One thought on “Droids, Symphony, and Skiing

  1. Laine: Your paper was very good. I enjoy reading your thoughts, and your arguments (as well as Ryann’s) made me stop and think what huge and important decisions our world leaders have to make. President Truman had a major decision to make to try to end the war quickly. War is always so costly that it never really makes sense, but when it goes on for years and years at the expense of many lives and property, these horrible actions have to happen. I am sure glad I live now and did not have to go through these horrible war years. I enjoy our blog.

    Like

Leave a comment